Letter from the Editor

“I can no other answer make, but, thanks, and thanks.”  ~William Shakespeare

The holiday season is a time to reflect, give thanks and show appreciation.  We would like to take this opportunity to say thank you to our 208 subscribers and many daily readers.  Thank you for tuning in each day, forwarding our posts to friends and joining in the conversation.

We often say that we’d love to be part of the playground chatter or office cooler gab:  Did you read what was on 4 mothers today?

It was always our hope when we started this blog that mothers, fathers, grandparents and educators would join the conversation and create an on-line community where ideas and opinions are shared freely.

People often ask us if we get paid to blog or receive any free swag for our reviews.  We do not get compensated with money or material for what we write, we just do it because we love it.

Each of us blogs for our own reasons.  I do it as a creative outlet.  I do it to flex my brainpower.  I do it for myself.  It’s my own project, something that my husband and kids have no dibs in.

It would be a lie to say that I don’t receive a rush when I read a comment from one of you.  It makes me feel as though I am not “talking into space” and that I am making a connection.

To show our gratitude to you, the readers, we are going to be saying thank you more regularly.  Just like we teach our children, good manners go a long way.

I would like to say thank you to our guest bloggers who wrote such wonderful posts while Carol was nesting with her baby and her boys.

Thank you:

Kelly Quinn who wrote about her obsession with her household’s energy consumption.

KJ for the inspiring children’s art project.

Lori Dyan who made us very curious as to what her maiden name could be.

Rosanne Carrara for reminding us how bedtime stories can go bad.

Kerry Clare for holding up a mirror and showing us how many of us parents think that we’re experts after a few bouts with the croup and years of all nighters under our belts.

I would also like to thank those who made comments this month.  My favourite is the string of comments that flowed from Carol’s post I Called My Mother.  Coincidently this was also my favourite post from the month – because really, who doesn’t just need to call their mother sometime?

Coming up in December expect to see some “wordless” posts as we try our hand at capturing the spirit of the season in a photograph, and have your favourite holiday timesaving tips at hand to share with us for our theme week this month.

Wishing you all the very best of the season!

Sincerely,

Beth-Anne Jones on behalf of the The 4mothers

2 thoughts on “Letter from the Editor

  1. Thank you one and all for your posts! If there is a 4 Mothers or one from The Kings and I… it is always the first email I open. I “feel” as though you are all friends, that we could share a pot of tea or a bottle or two of wine…and chat about anything and everything relating to our kids, husbands,laundry, life. (Not that particular order but you get the idea.)
    Thank you for being open and honest and sharing the not so perfect parts of motherhood. One of my favourite books is “I was a great mother before I had kids”. You are all amazing and have one very loyal reader.
    Enjoy the holidays and remember that time is the best present… Cheers to all of you. Be well and take some time for yourselves. Hugs, Stef

Comments are closed.