Bluebells

On a little patch of the University of Toronto campus, a sea of bluebells appears each spring.  It never fails to amaze me how, almost overnight, the landscape goes from dull brown to green to suddenly bright blue.  I used to walk or take the bus past it each day when my eldest was a baby, and one day I plunked him down on a tree stump in the middle of the blue carpet of flowers, snapped a roll of film, and a tradition was born.

Now, we go back every year to get (digital) pictures of the kids in among all those flowers, which are technically blue scilla.  It’s a bit tricky, making sure that the kids don’t step on the flowers, and I will readily admit that some years, the photographers’ nerves are frayed by the end of the exercise, but the pictures are worth it.

It’s one of my favourite rites of spring.

2004

2008

2009

2004
3 thoughts on “Bluebells

  1. There are huge patches of blue scilla on Rosedale Valley Road, and my heart lifts each and every time I see them. What is more surprising and serene than blue flowers?

Comments are closed.