Gluten-Free Black Bean Brownies – Yes, they taste good!

I am the first to say that while I love the idea of being “deceptively delicious”, I find it time consuming to make purees to hide in treats.  I am also a bit of kitchen novice so I tend to stick to my tried and true.  I can make well: chocolate chip cookies, chocolate cake and icing, banana muffins and Rice Krispie treats.

A few weeks ago, my sister-in-law brought over dessert for my mom’s birthday and among the heaps of fresh fruit and sinful cupcakes, were gluten-free black bean brownies.

Yup, that’s what I thought too.

However, I was pleasantly surprised when I discovered that the brownie tasted just like any decent, flourless cake.  The boys loved them and of course they had no idea that they were consuming black beans.

My sister-in-law’s kitchen skills are on par with mine, so I knew that they had to be somewhat easy to make.  Here is the recipe that she found courtesy of Babble.

The best part is that these brownies take about 15 minutes to make!

Try them out and let me know what you think.

Photo courtesy of http://www.babble.com

7 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Black Bean Brownies – Yes, they taste good!

  1. When I am being “Deceptively Delicious”, I cheat and buy jarred baby food since I don’t take the time to puree my own food. Kids never know!

    • I am such a skeptic with this sort of thing – “pretend” food. They honestly taste as good as any decadent brownie. I would puree the bean more than they suggest though only because I prefer a smoother texture.

      I poked around your blog. Great stuff over there!

Comments are closed.