Not a movie, but a way of watching

As you may have gleaned from my review of Alan Bradley’s latest Flavia de Luce mystery, I get rather overzealous when it comes to things I love.  I am not moderate in my passions or in the speed of consumption of the things I love.  I throw myself into a book or a movie or a series or a hobby full tilt, and I pretty much don’t look up until it’s done.  I’ve read the occasional book that was so achingly good that I wanted to make it last longer and read it slowly, but the desire to gobble great things up usually wins out.  I’m a Wild Thing that way: I’ll eat you up, I love you so.

So, I don’t have a favourite romantic film so much as a favourite way of watching movies with my beloved: in great, greedy gulps.  We will have marathon sessions of watching a string of Prime Suspect or Inspector Morse dvds, of The Sopranos or Mad Men episodes, and, our first: The Lord of the Rings movies.  One of the great joys of the Christmas holidays in the years when those dvds were being released in December was to curl up and devour the four hours of extended movie and the bonus features discs!  The battle between good and evil is hardly a Hallmark Valentine Theme, but it was such fun to bond over our geeky zeal.  Even better than the high I get when settling in for a marathon session with a Sure Thing (entertainment-wise) is sharing that buzz with my husband.  The guilty pleasure is amplified, and we feed each other’s glee.  Nothing beats that for romance.

And another Sure Thing is on its way:  the third season of Game of Thrones!  I watched the first season on dvd when I was sick, and my husband would peek in and get pulled into the story.  Once I was over my flu, and had to return the dvds, I discovered that season two was available, so he ordered HBO just so that we could watch the second season on demand!  And we watched it in great, greedy, gleeful gulps.  The only problem with this long-awaited third season is, we will have to parcel it out like every one else, and watch it One.  Episode.  At.  A.  Time.

4 thoughts on “Not a movie, but a way of watching

  1. Game of Thrones is so good. It’s one of the few series my husband and I can agree on (he likes things like Lost, I like things like Downton Abby – enough said). But Game of Thrones is so entertaining, I really don’t know how anyone could NOT like it. I love the way you throw yourself into things you really love. I’m the same way, which is why I can’t have ice cream in the house.

Comments are closed.