From Pea to Pumpkin: A Pregnancy Journal Giveaway

download4Mothers recently received a pregnancy journal for review, and it’s so lovely that it’s our pleasure to tell you about it and to offer one reader a giveaway copy.  It’s called From Pea to Pumpkinand it’s beautiful.  Wistful watercolours of fruits and vegetables, appropriately sized for each of the 40 weeks of pregnancy, accompany gentle prompts for the expectant mother to note her thoughts and feelings during this unique time.

Each page starts with a simple sentence to be answered with multiple choices, followed by a few more fill in the blanks and sentences for the week.  If you are a natural at pregnancy, reflection, and scrapbooking, this journal may be a little rudimentary for you.  For the rest of us, though, it strikes me as a gentle call to record a distinctive time in an easy and accessible format.  And as all mothers know, a journal in the hand is better than two in the bush.

Something I like about From Pea to Pumpkin is space for feelings about pregnancy that aren’t as sweet as the watercolours (the artist says she learned to draw at 40!).  In week 9, the mom-to-be is asked what her moods of late resemble, and one of the choices is “those of a person I’d rather not know”.  If, let’s say, pregnancy didn’t come so naturally to a mother, it’s nice to know that one’s state of mind is common enough to make the top five answers, and that you can still participate in some variety of mother club.  Okay, let’s talk about me.  The truth is that I wish I’d had something like this journal at the beginning and actually used it because, as cranky as I was during my first pregnancy, now I’d love to revisit that period with more clarity than my memory affords.

We assume that most of our readers at 4Mothers already have children, but know that many of you are still in the game for more.  Wouldn’t you like a journal like this?  We also know that some of you are expecting yourselves, and well, almost everybody knows someone who is pregnant somewhere.  If you fall into any of these categories, just leave a comment to enter our giveaway for this pregnancy journal!  It would make a lovely gift, for yourself or for someone else who is special, and we are very pleased to offer it to you.

As always, there are no strings attached to this giveaway.   As we’ve mentioned about our giveaways before, there is no skill-testing question, you will not be charged for shipping, and you will not be peppered with spam.  It’s a simple, straightforward affair.  Just leave a comment before Sunday at 10 pm EST, then we’ll randomly pick and announce a winner on Monday morning, and that reader will get a copy of From Pea to Pumpkin in the mail shortly after that.  (Note that this giveaway is only open to readers in Canada and the United States.)

Please enter!  And good luck for the giveaway!  (Oh yes, and also best wishes for the little one coming your way…)

 

The winner of the giveaway for From Pea to Pumpkin:  A Pregnancy Journal is Carrie:

I would love to have this for round two! =) I really wish I had recorded my first journey of pregnancy…

Congratulations Carrie!  And thank you to everyone who played along with us!

20 thoughts on “From Pea to Pumpkin: A Pregnancy Journal Giveaway

  1. I would love this. We are trying to conceive. My second. Hubbys first biological. Thank you for the chance.

  2. What a charming book! I always see cute and witty things like this and think “why didn’t I think of that first.” Luckily I journaled my first pregnancy when I remember and am continuing into his childhood.

  3. This would be wonderful to have. I am currently pregnant with my second child and need a place to record all the wonderful things happening to me. I’d be very appreciative. Thanks for the opportunity.

  4. I would love to have used something like this with either of my pregnancies… I have various vivid memories of course; but it would be really neat to have them written down, and I think the prompts would help… We are in talks for a third, or this would make an amazing gift, so I am throwing my hat in the ring!

  5. What a fantastic informative blog! I always see cute and witty things like this.That’s amazing.

Comments are closed.