Cussing With Kids

swearing-294391_640
I wrote on this topic earlier this year – here is a slightly modified re-post.

I swear.  Luckily, my husband swears more and unapologetically (“it’s a victim-less crime”), so I freely blame my babies’ cussing on him.  Yes, my babies cuss.  Yesterday I pulled down my youngest’s pants down to let him pee, but didn’t pull his pants away enough so he peed a little on his pants.  I had no spare pair, and anyway, if he’s going to pee in his pants, I want it to be his doing and not mine.

“Oh, shit!” said I.

“Oh, shit!” learned he.

He is not yet two.  I think this may be his fourth two-word sentence.

My older two swore as toddlers too.  And well, I might add.  “Damn” and “hell” are for the weak-kneed; I’m not referring to such sissy swearing here.  No, my kids were heavy hitters,  and when they let those cuss bombs fly, I’d observe, with a little pride, that “fuck” was always properly conjugated.

Their swearing peaked at two and three years old.  Now at 7 and 4, they’ve matured, and don’t swear anymore because they know it’s inappropriate.  Even the utterance of “stupid” will often be followed by a quick apology because, ironically, we are actually otherwise careful about how we use our words around here.  And when I drop the full dustpan or bang my hip against the counter, they’ll give me a moment before evenly telling me, “Don’t say the F word, Mom.”

I try not to, and I’ve curbed it quite a bit, but I still do.

4 thoughts on “Cussing With Kids

  1. That made me laugh so much. Your kids reminding you not to swear! It sounds like you’ve done an amazing job if they apologise for saying ‘stupid’. What lovely, well-mannered children.

Comments are closed.