Guest Post: Meg Gardner: Age Ain’t Nothing but a Number

You may consider that a popular saying.  Or you may consider that a song by Aaliyah.  If you are the latter, then we could be friends.

I don’t think much about my age.  In fact, I worry that I should think more about it.  For example, I am the same age as this blog author, but clearly she has thought far more about 38 than I have.

If anything, age makes me worry: It’s too late.  I should have started wrinkle prevention before they showed up.  Travelled more to far off places before I had kids.  Listened to my high school math teacher and put way more away for retirement a long, long time ago.

These days, when someone asks me how old I am, I have to think.  I have to calculate, wonder if that’s really right, and recalculate.  And laugh.  Really?  38?

If I’m being honest, I’d rather answer with how old I feel.  Some days it’s 26, other days it’s 36.  It’s perspective.  It’s all in how you feel.

And sometimes I feel like throwing that old Aaliyah song on and it’s 1994 all over again…with the whole rest of my life ahead of me.

::

megMeg Gardner is a Home & Family blogger, and she blogs at Loving Albany.  Her beautiful house was recently featured on Apartment Therapy.  Check it out!

One thought on “Guest Post: Meg Gardner: Age Ain’t Nothing but a Number

  1. I have definitely thought about my life right now a lot, but what you say here is also true: I don’t really think of how old I am often. At all. And when I am reminded for some reason of how old I am, it often startles and surprises me. Really? I still feel about 25. I’m definitely still waiting for the real mother to come home!

Comments are closed.