Le Parfum de Thérèse: A Love Story

imgres-1I am in love with a love story, a message in a bottle that has traveled through time and from one love to millions.

Le Parfum de Thérèse is a Frederic Malle perfume that was launched in 2000, but it was originally created in the 1950s by perfumer Edmond Roudnitska for his wife Thérèse.  It was never commercially produced, and although sample flasks circulated among perfumers, Thérèse was the only person to wear it.  Malle approached Thérèse and her son Michel, both perfumers themselves, to ask permission to launch the late Roudnitska’s private fragrance for his line.  As Michel explains,

The inspiration for what is now known as Le Parfum de Thérèse was the love he had for my mother, his faithful collaborator without whom he could not have carried out any of work….

So much of the appeal of fragrance comes from story for me.  I love a perfume with a great story.  I think that’s why I love Christopher Brosius so much.  Each one of his fragrances has a story.   Greenbriar 1968 is a biography of his grandfather in a bottle:

This scent is a memory of my Grandfather, the sawmill that he owned and the stone house where he lived.

And I swear you can smell that stone house in the perfume.  Just the thought of paying that kind of tribute to a grandfather makes me swoon.  I love the perfume itself, but the story seals the deal.

It’s counter-intuitive, to say the least, for words to influence one’s love of fragrance, but story somehow adds depth to perfume.

Since I first smelled Le Parfum de Thérèse, I have not been able to get it out of my mind.  I have sampled it only twice, and both times I could not stop smelling my wrist.  I have it sprayed on a test strip, too, and I keep going back to the ghost of a scent on this piece of paper.  It’s complex and evolves quite drastically from top note to base note, and while the top notes put me seriously over the moon with delirious joy, the drydown is, given that kind of hyperbole, understandably less dramatic.  So I haven’t made the commitment to buying it.  While I am usually one for instant gratification, I am really enjoying taking my time with this one.  I flirt with it.  I think about it a lot.  It’s only available at one store in Toronto, so I have to think about how long of an interval I have to leave before I can reasonably show up at the counter again to have another whiff.  I have a crush on this perfume, and I am loving the courtship.

One thought on “Le Parfum de Thérèse: A Love Story

  1. Adegbe.abel@gmail. Com On 10 Mar 2014 05:49, Thought to share. Not the perfume though but how much love the story carries n the way it’s told > Nathalie Foy posted: “I am in love with a love story, a message in a bottle that has traveled through time and from one love to millions. Le Parfum de Thrse is a Frederic Malle perfume that was launched in 2000, but it was originally created in the 1950s by perfumer Edmon” >

Comments are closed.