Finding My Voice

writing-923882_6401)    What am I working on/writing?

I am currently working on a comprehensive family history.  I am focused on the maternal side of the family and I am fascinated by the stories.  Sometimes I toy with the idea of taking a writing class to learn structure, and how to develop a fictional and/or non-fictional story.  Ultimately, I think that I need to be less afraid.  I keep waiting for someone to call me out as a fraud, a wannabe writer, someone who will never know a kernel of the talent that real writers possess.

2) How does my work/writing differ from others of its genre?

I don’t like compartmentalizing writing by genre.  Instead, I like to think that an author’s work is their voice.  Sometimes their voice is mysterious, sometimes humorous but always unique.  Readers can always recognize the voice of a good writer and I hope to hone my voice over time.

3) Why do I write what I do?

“I just need to get this out of my head!”  That’s a phrase my kids are familiar with.  I write for creative release, to express my feelings and to capture moments in my life where a visual often times will not suffice.  Writing for 4Mothers has been a life rung at times for me.  Through this blog I have found a purpose that is solely my own (and two of my favourite women), a community of like-minded women and a feeling of belonging.

4) How does my writing process work?

The word process is so beyond me.  I wish that I had a process.  I think that if I had a process I would be more successful as a writer.  Note to self: develop a process more substantial than plopping myself down in front of the computer in my track pants at night after the kids are in bed and allowing myself to pay attention to my own thoughts – imagine that.

4 thoughts on “Finding My Voice

  1. I almost swooned when reminded of you work with your family history… it will be such a gift to all of your family. (Can’t wait to read it, if allowed.)

  2. Thanks for your honesty and willingness to share what your writing journey is like. I can relate very much to not having a perfect process, to needing my blog for creative expression, and even to the fears that someone will call me a fraud (though that seems to be diminishing; each time I call myself a writer, my confidence grows). I love it when I’m in the company of other writers who don’t have everything figured out yet. It helps me know that I’m not alone!

Comments are closed.