Just 34

IMG_5224It’s the first of day of October. It seems as though I am flipping the pages of the calendar with increasing speed. Why is that? Why is it that when we are children the days and weeks stretch on for what feels like forever. We are always anxious for our next birthday, generously rounding up. Today’s my birthday and I can tell you with all honesty, I not only do not round up but I cling to the number I am until exactly today.   I was 33 yesterday. Not 33 ½. Not almost 34. I was 33. Today I am just 34. I will be just 34 for probably 6 months and then I will resign myself to being, solidly, 34.

Contrary to what you may think, I am not opposed to getting older. What I am opposed to is how damn quickly those days between 33 and 34 passed. And how, I know from experience, much more damn quickly the days between 34 and 35 will pass.

It’s impossible to control the passage of time, but is it ever possible to feel as though you’re not losing a race against the clock?

This month we have challenged ourselves to be thankful for our days, to be mindful of the choices that we make, to appreciate the beauty in the ordinary and to relish in the extraordinary. We will contemplate ways to be more mindful, suggest ways to give and say thanks, and share our favourite hidden gems in city that we are most grateful for.

If you like something we’ve written about, let us know by leaving a comment, or sharing via Twitter or Facebook.

5 thoughts on “Just 34

  1. Happy Birthday! I like what you have written here. And I agree! Time suddenly starts flying and I still have no idea how I got from early January to now, October, in a split of a second…

  2. Happy birthday for yesterday! We’re only a day apart – my birthday is today although I am a few years older than you. And yes totally agree about time going by too fast, it is especially true since the kids started school. The days and weeks just seem to whizz by. X

Comments are closed.