Yoga With Kids

270Along with pretty much everything else, yoga has been on a hiatus lately and I’ve been feeling it.  But I fit in it yesterday.  I was with my youngest babe, and for whatever reason, he suggested it.  It’s been a good long while since we’ve done any yoga and honestly I don’t even know how he would know to ask for it.  But I’ve been meaning to get back to it anyway, and there’s no time like the present, so in popped the video.

I did this even though in exactly six minutes I had to pick up my older boys from school, but I figured six minutes is a huge improvement on the nothing I’ve been doing, and my body would benefit from anything.

And then I had the happy (and kind of surprising) experience of mentioning it to the boys after school and hearing:  “Yeah!  Yoga!  Let’s do yoga!  Yoga, yoga!!”

So we traipsed up the stairs and into the bedroom where the computer is and got started.  There is absolutely no room for four of us; there’s barely room for two.  We squished two (sometimes three) on the floor, and one (sometimes two) on the bed.  Yes, my children did yoga on the bed.

Yoga with the kids is also more vocal than when I do it alone.  I heard:

I’m the best at this!

Is this supposed to hurt?

What does she mean take 5 breaths?  I already took 5 breaths!

My feet smell too bad.  I’m too close to my feet.

There’s space right here on Mommy!  See?

Who wants to play the game where we run and bump each other?

Meditation is not the name of the game when I do yoga with the kids, but it’s hard to imagine enjoying it more.  I am in awe of what practicing yoga can do for the body, mind and spirit, and yet there really is something to be said for a good belly laugh (or six).  I’m thankful for all of it.

10 thoughts on “Yoga With Kids

  1. I love how you are getting your kids to be active. Yoga is great for the mind, body and soul and you will reap great benefits as a result. Too many kids today are on a couch gaming. Gaming is fine–in moderation. You are a great mom.

    • My boys are pretty active in other ways too, sports etc., and I think yoga is a wonderful (and important!) part of that. Thanks for your note 😉

    • i just laughed aloud at your comment. i have a *very* different approach to yoga when the boys are around and that’s what makes it possible. it is so much fun then…

  2. I love this. I do yoga with my 2 year old (He calls it yogurt) We have to do animal yoga, to keep him interested. He loves it. We do poses and act like all the animals. I am hoping this keeps him into it as he gets older. I love to see that your kids like yoga.

    • My kids were doing a class directed to me (thus the comments!) but a kids’ focus is great too… I think all exposure is so good. Love that your son calls it “yogurt”!

Comments are closed.