The Best Comfy, Cozy PJs for Winter

It’s November. Despite the many birthdays of people I love peppering this month, I don’t like November. The days are drab with little sunshine, and darkness descends well before the dinner hour. What I also dislike about November? It’s the official start of the “cold” season – and I don’t mean the sniffling, sneezing kind. I mean the, “It’s FREEZING!” kind. It’s depressing to know that I won’t feel warm again for another 6 months!

In effort to combat the chilly nights, I did some searching for the perfect, cuddly, snuggly, warm pyjamas.

And if you’re still sleeping in a ratty t-shirt or holey-shorts, please do me a favour and read this, your partner may thank me.

cn10025951 cn10041041

Old Navy is a great, cheap and cheerful destination to spruce up your sleepwear. My complaint with the nightdress is that it always ends up strangling me in the middle of the night. Not sure if that’s a fault with the design or if it speaks to my inability to lay ram-rod straight all night long. Shorts are a good option if your legs get too hot and these ones are on sale for $10. These light weight shirts ($10) are ideal for sprinting around the kitchen in the morning, and not flashing your neighbours side boob. If you live in the city, most likely you know what I mean.  I am also a fan of the loungewear that can be disguised as “pants” if you’re in a pinch. These flat front jersey pants ($21.94) are stylish while still maintaining their comfy cred.

imgres-1

I know some people love the adult onesie. I am not such a fan, mainly because I loathe the idea of being completely naked and sitting on the toilet. But I admit to being smitten with this BP. Undercover Free Spirit Fair Isle Print Jumpsuit from Nordstrom for $56.28. Something about this look says “après ski” – which definitely appeals to my senses.

P.J. Salvage is a brand for those with a sense of humor. These flannel sets are $65 but pieces can be bought separately if you’re not willing to commit to the entire Gingerbread motif. I know someone who would be happy to receive the Owl Friends ensemble while I am leaning towards the Cheers set for New Year’s Eve.

imgres-1 imgres-2 imgres-3

When I was a little girl, a friend’s mom would always emerge from her bedroom in flowing silk and delicate lace. I would always look at her in awe, with post sleep-over eyes, and think that she was the most beautiful woman who ever lived. I am reminded of her whenever I see gorgeous lingerie, and for a fleeting second, I think that I should embrace my inner Liz Taylor. This La Perla tank gown is on sale for $168 but Hollywood glam isn’t really my thing, so this set, also by La Perla wins out every time.

BGI05J3_mi

This may be the only sleep shirt that could convert me and at $88  I feel I could trick people into believing it’s a tunic.

11221

And my favourites – my ultimate picks for a comfy, cozy, winter weekend morning . . .

These heather flannel pjs ($198) from Coyuchi and this classic white and pink trimmed set from Marigot ($132).

womens_cloudbrushedlinen_pj_f_v2_r classic-long-pajama-set_c21286fb-8b9a-4daa-afe9-943cbee59d92_large

And for the kiddies:

Moose on Red Kids’ Overall Print Pajama Set – $35.  Hatley is my favourite go-to for luxe kids pjs. I love the prints and the fit, plus they wash well.

imgres-1

Playjamas is a Canadian brand that we have featured on 4Mothers before, but I have to include their pjs in this round-up. The Ninja jams have been passed down through my three boys and the fabric is just as soft, and the colours just as vibrant as the day we got them. Available: ballerina, doctor, knight, ninja and robot. $38.95

imgres-2

The Drake General Store is a gift-givers paradise. Their whimsical curiosities guarantee the best reactions when unwrapped. Their 2014 Arborist PJ set (I am partial to the Mountie) is available in kids and adults. A pretty spectacular Christmas morning photo, I’d say!

images

And I just had to end with this video to make you smile on this dreary November day.

