Guest Post: Bre Betts on The Maturation of My Dreams

babyDreams are magical, often placing us in situations that seem very real and leaving us to question in the morning, whether our dreams were just that. What’s even more magical is that many dreams come true.

When I was a little girl, growing up in a very small town (that I loved), I used to dream about moving to Toronto when I was older. Check. I dreamed about living and working on Bay Street. Check. I used to dream about finding the perfect husband and having a child. Check. I dreamed about becoming a famous actress. Since I could never act, there’s no check there, but you get the point.

Being a new mom, my dreams have matured recently. While I do wistfully daydream about the future (bigger house, different career path, etc.), my dreams have matured. They’ve grown from dreams for myself and my future, to dreams for my young son and his future.

I find myself daydreaming about his social life as a young adult and all the fun I hope he has. I’ve dreamt that he works hard and becomes something great in life. Maybe he’ll play for the NHL; or maybe be a lawyer. He may go into teaching, the medical field, a trade or politics. The possibilities are endless. But at the end of the day, I dream of a future for him,in which he is able to do what he loves, and what he always dreamed of doing.

I don’t know what the future holds for my son or our family, but it’s exciting to dream about where he’ll end up and what’s in store for him.

Daydreaming about my son’s dreams coming true is my new favourite pastime.

 ::

Bre Betts blogs at First Time Mom

 

