Corrected! Bake Sale Recipe: Chocolate Chip Squares

This summer my sister-in-law made these chocolate chip squares.  The recipe was passed down from a friend so I am unsure of the origin, but if I could find the original source rest assured that I would give them a piece of mind and call them out on being an enabler to my cookie addiction.

These squares are easy to make.  My four and five year-olds followed the recipe with simple prompts and were proud of their culinary skills.

And any recipe that leaves one bowl for cleanup is a hit in my books.

Please don’t send me hateful emails if you make these and eat the entire pan in one sitting.  Consider yourself warned!

Ingredients:

¾ cup of brown sugar

2 cups of flour

1 cup of soft unsalted butter (I used slightly less)

1 tsp of vanilla (I used more, but then again I could bathe in this stuff!)

1 cup of chocolate chips (give or take the handful that my two year shoved in his mouth)

Method:

Mix all of the ingredients together in a large bowl.  Once thoroughly mixed, press into a 8X8 or 9X9 square pan.  Bake at 350 degrees for 25-35 minutes.  Cut into squares while still hot.

9 thoughts on “Corrected! Bake Sale Recipe: Chocolate Chip Squares

    • Eeeeks! Did you see that I forgot to add the flour? I am telling you with each child birthed millions of brain cells lost in the process!!! You need to add 2 cups of flour.

      • Haha! I didn`t even miss the flour when I read it! I totally understand what your saying about the brain cell thing. We`re in good company 🙂

  1. Okay, if you weren’t so nice I would find that Hex that Carol posted about a few weeks ago and cast it at you! I SO don’t need to make these…and yet I SO want to. Especially as it is POURING rain. Why does rain make cookies seem totally okay?

Comments are closed.